ASSEMBLY: Only in the Love, Love that Lifts Us Up

Sunday, November 19

10:30 AM | Upper Assembly Hall

A Journey toward Wholeness

The First Unitarian Chorus and Orchestra explore the themes of anguish, aloneness, and alienation, transformed by love and community, ultimately leading us to lightness and joy.

We begin the morning with the moving work by Jake Runestead called “Please Stay”, a plea to those who have felt hopeless and desperate because of mental health issues or being marginalized in society. We will also feature Craig Hella Johnson’s “All of Us”, a piece written in memory of Matthew Shephard and a call for us to open our hearts to love and release ourselves from the fear of “the other”

A very special guest, Lynn Erickson, from the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra, will play the piccolo trumpet in the stunning Brandenburg Concerto #2 by J.S. Bach. This work, filled with so much light, dance, and joy will move us on our journey toward light and wholeness. We end with Emily Dickinson’s “Will there really be a morning” beautifully arranged by Craig Hella Johnson. Other composers include Samuel Barber, and poets Emily Dickinson and Michael Dennis Browne. Dr. Jeffrey Stirling will conduct the chorus and orchestra.

Read More